2012: Great times ahead!

So it’s 4.26am Chinese New Year and I can’t sleep.

A few things have been sitting around in my mind and I just feel like dumping them here. My last post was probably nearly a year ago, and a lot has happened since then:

  • I no longer have a job
  • I bought a car, but I haven’t gotten my P’s
  • I still have no clue about what to do for my final year project
  • My cat, Peanut, turned 2 human years old
  • 2011 was awesome compared to 2010!

But the biggest thing that has happened to me was that I had found someone special!

I met him at uni while I was with a friend, and I ended up talking to him because I liked the way he customised his laptop. Who would’ve guessed that a couple of months later, from the beginning of the new semester, we’d be talking every day, and meeting up whenever we can at uni… Eventually I realised I can’t go a day without talking to him, and that a day at uni would be unfulfilling if I did not get to see him, no matter how productive I was.

I felt attracted to him during the first few weeks of the semester, and the feeling intensified as time went on. I was always happy to see him – not at all annoyed or felt that his presence was unpleasant… instead I looked forward to the next time I would see him. Despite all of this, I still had my insecurities. I wondered if he felt the same way. I thought he was just leading me on. I just felt like all the past situations where I thought things were going somewhere, which turned out to be just wishful thinking, were repeating themselves. We joked around a lot, especially after he found out I was ticklish… Sometimes I would try to keep my distance whenever I felt angry at him, because as much as I had liked him at the time, I didn’t want to push him away by showing him this insecure side of me.

I still remember our first hug. He walked me to the station and I still had time, so he bought me a drink. I hugged him before I left.🙂

Around mid-semester I was very sick for two weeks. To much of the design students’ dismay, I still turned up to all of my classes, and spent most of my spare time in the computer labs, coughing my lungs out. He’d always drop by and prescribe me some form of remedy: oranges, strepsils and a gargle which frankly raped my tastebuds – but I trusted him so I kept it up once a day. He was there for me until I was fully recovered, and long after that too. I guess during those two weeks was when he really won me over.

The end of semester was nearing and projects were due one after another. It was a busy period for both of us and we still kept up the messages and ate together whenever we could. I was getting very stressed out but talking to him has always kept me happy and calm.

When uni ended, I was afraid that we’d grow distant from each other, since we won’t see each other as often anymore. I wasn’t sure how to ask to keep in touch… so I just waited. I thought if we were meant to be, then things would somehow sort themselves out, and an opportunity to meet will present themselves. And then we ended up going to the graduate exhibition at uni together. It seemed that every time we meet, it would be at uni. I didn’t think we would break away from that. During the exhibition I was grabbing both of his hands, making sure that he wouldn’t tickle me otherwise I’d trip and fall onto the graduate models… At the end of it all, we chilled at the student lounge. I rested my head on his lap and we stayed like that for a while. In his words, it was the first time we were really close to each other.

A few weeks went by, we became much closer, and it got to the point where I couldn’t deny my feelings for him. In the past whenever I got to this point, I become scared and ran away. In the end I did something I’ve never done before. I told him my feelings. Well. He tricked them out of me. Sneaky sneaky little…

We’ve been together for nearly two months now, but it indeed has felt much longer than that. It hasn’t exactly been the smoothest ride, but I really could not ask for more. Whenever I am with him, I feel “over the moon!”^^ I’ve never met anyone as caring and loving as him, who’s also quirky, weird, funny, adorable, supportive, understanding, smart, trustworthy, helpful, cheerful, respectful, talented and dedicated… I feel like I can take on the world when I am with him.

Just in case you happen to come across this post… I just wanna say thank you for putting up with this crazy nutjob [don’t deny it] that happens to be your girlfriend, and here’s for many more months and good times to come *chuu*. Also Happy Chinese New Year ^^.

I love you. A lot. So much. Too much. +1.🙂

It’s 5.23am and I should probably get my sleep on.

*catherine

The theme colour of this year will be BLUE!

Leave a Reply

